Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Other benefit issues  →  Thread

Child Maintenance Payments and Special Guardians

Plunky
forum member

Kinship

Send message

Total Posts: 3

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting here. I know this isn’t strictly a benefits question, but after thoroughly reviewing the Children’s Act and the Child Support Act, I’m still unclear about something.

A carer I am advising is caring for a relative’s child under a Special Guardianship Order. Both she and her husband are named on the order, and the parents are still alive. The carer has since separated from her partner and is now pursuing him for child maintenance. He remains named on the order.

From my understanding, only biological parents can be mandated to pay child maintenance. However, the carer believes this is incorrect. Child Maintenance Team have also said carers ex does not have liability, however, the carer provided me with the information below, which is from the CAB website.

Child maintenance must be paid if you:

• Are the child’s biological or adoptive parent
• Don’t live with the child as part of their family
• Are the child’s legal parent

My interpretation of ‘legal parent’ includes biological parents, adoptive parents, or those assigned parental responsibility through legal means.

Can anyone confirm? If so, could you please direct me to the specific section in the regulation or Act? I feel like I’m going around in circles.

Thank you!

[ Edited: 28 Jun 2024 at 08:25 am by Plunky ]
Plunky
forum member

Kinship

Send message

Is the reason no one has responded to this enquiry because it’s not strictly about benefits? I’ve noticed many people have viewed it, but there are no replies. Many thanks.

Elliot Kent
forum member

Shelter

Send message

Total Posts: 3175

I don’t know that its a subject that any of the regulars are particular experts on. As you say, it is not a benefit issue.