Search options

Where

Benefit

Jurisdiction

Jurisdiction

From

to

Forum Home  →  Discussion  →  Work capability issues and ESA  →  Thread

Research into perceptions of wellbeing during WCA process for people deemed severely functionally disabled at previous WCA

Ros
Administrator

editor, rightsnet.org.uk

Send message

Total Posts: 1325

Request from David, a PhD student at Lancaster University -

My name is David and I am a PhD student at Lancaster University conducting research into individual perceptions of well-being during the work capability assessment (WCA) process for people deemed severely functionally disabled (LCWRA) at their previous WCA.

The aim of the project is to gather narratives from the participants that can be analysed and the findings provided to the Centre for Health and Disability Assessments (CHDA) who conduct the WCAs for their knowledge.

The study will involve an initial brief telephone discussion, so the researcher can ascertain the following criteria are all met:

- Working age (16-65).

- Male or female in England.

- Deemed to have severe functional disability at a previous work capability assessment (WCA), and are now   undergoing the re-assessment process.

- Speak fluent English language.

- Have the mental capacity to speak on their own behalf at interview.

Once it is established that the criteria are met and the participants consent to participation, there will be a one to one interview face to face, or via telephone or Microsoft Teams (telephone or Microsoft Teams interviews are more likely taking into account the current pandemic). The plan is to interview participants on two occasions, before the WCA and after the WCA, so perceptions of well-being during the re-assessment process can be taken at two points in time.